Some Things Just Can’t Be Erased.

It is now 4:53am…
I have not had one once of sleep since nightfall. My mind has been wondering, wondering all over. Today August 6, in my home town Bunkers Hill, my family will be having a little get together at this get together they paint my grandparents grave as well as my uncle in law’s and they would go down to the “old yard” and cut the grass because they say that where they were cutting is the burial spot of some other family members. Daddy would normally buy rum and crates of Red Stripe or whatever else liquor they wanted, he would ensure that when the men are going down to the old yard no matter how early it was he would get up, get dressed and head down with them with his bottle of rum and cups.

This year, instead of daddy watching the men paint his parents and brother in law’s grave, they will be painting his. He won’t be around to give any of his jokes to the women who are cooking, he didn’t buy any liquor for the men or anything, because he is no longer here. I won’t be at that gathering today because i am trying to erase memories, memories that involve daddy and I being happy together. Funny how life has a way of reviling things to you that you really don’t want to remember. Even though you have moved on they still pop up in the wee hours of the night and you just can’t help it.

2 Peter 1:13 declares “And it is only right that I should keep on reminding you as long as I live.”

At times we remember things, things we have hidden so far back in our heads and say they should just stay there, but one day or night when we least expect it God just drops that in our heads, why? unfortunately I don’t know, but he does.

Today you may not share my memory that I was trying to erase, but you have something inside your head, that thing may just be the jump start you will need, sure you will feel down, but it will be of great help. Don’t try to erase things that were never met to be erased.

Blessings

Albert Darnell Anderson

Leave a Reply

